ماري شارب ، كرسي

ولدت ماري شارب في غلاسكو وترعرعت في أسرة مكرسة للخدمة العامة من خلال التدريس والقانون والطب. منذ صغرها ، كانت مفتونة بقوة العقل وكانت تتعلم منذ ذلك الحين.

التعليم والخبرة المهنية

حصلت ماري على درجة الماجستير في الآداب من جامعة غلاسكو بالفرنسية والألمانية مع علم النفس والفلسفة الأخلاقية. تابعت هذا مع درجة البكالوريوس في القانون. بعد التخرج مارست كمحامٍ ومحامٍ. بالنسبة إلى سنوات 13 التالية ، عملت ماري في اسكتلندا والمفوضية الأوروبية في بروكسل. ثم قامت بعمل الدراسات العليا في جامعة كامبريدج وأصبحت معلمة هناك لسنوات عديدة. في 2012 عادت ماري إلى كلية المحامين ، الاسكتلندية بار ، لتحديث حرفة المحكمة. في 2014 ذهبت غير تدرب على تأسيس The Reward Foundation. إنها لا تزال عضوًا في كلية العدل وكلية المحامين.

مؤسسة المكافآت

قامت ماري بثلاثة أدوار قيادية في مؤسسة المكافآت. في يونيو 2014 كانت الرئيس المؤسس. في مايو 2016 انتقلت إلى الدور المهني للمدير التنفيذي الذي شغلته بعد ذلك حتى نوفمبر 2019 عندما انضمت إلى مجلس الإدارة كرئيس.

جامعة كامبريدج

التحقت ماري بجامعة كامبريدج في 2000-1 للقيام بأعمال الدراسات العليا في مجال الحب الجنسي وعلاقات القوة بين الجنسين من فترة العصور الكلاسيكية الكلاسيكية إلى العصر المشترك المبكر. لا تزال نظم القيم المتضاربة هذه تؤثر على العالم اليوم.

من يناير 2020 ، عادت ماري إلى كلية لوسي كافنديش كباحث زائر.

الحفاظ على ذروة الأداء

بالإضافة إلى عملها البحثي ، تدربت ماري كمسهل لورشة عمل في الجامعة مع منظمتين عالميتين حائزتين على جوائز تستخدمان أبحاثًا في علم النفس وعلم الأعصاب بطريقة تطبيقية. نظرًا لأن التكنولوجيا أصبحت أكثر اندماجًا في حياة الناس ، فقد صممت ماري ورشتها الخاصة بـ 2 الخاصة بقسم تطوير الخريجين بجامعة كامبريدج. كانت ورشة العمل تسمى "الحفاظ على أداء الذروة". إنها دورة عملية قائمة على الأدلة لإظهار كيفية تعلمنا وتغيير العادات واتخاذ القرارات وإدراك المخاطر المحيطة بالإفراط في استخدام التكنولوجيا. كان التركيز على تطوير القدرة على التكيف مع الضغوط والتواصل مع الآخرين وأن يصبحوا قادة فعالين. عملت أيضًا كمرشدة لطلاب المؤسسات وكاتبة علوم في معهد كامبريدج معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا. هذا هو مشروع مشترك بين معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا (MIT) وجامعة كامبريدج.

تطورات البحوث

لا يزال انتمائها لجامعة كامبريدج من خلال كليهما كلية سانت ادموند و كلية لوسي كافنديش حيث هي عضو مشارك. قضت ماري عامًا كعالمة زائرة في كلية سانت إدموند بجامعة كامبريدج في 2015-16. هذا سمح لها بمواصلة البحث في علم الإدمان السلوكي الناشئ. خلال ذلك الوقت تحدثت في عشرات المؤتمرات الوطنية والدولية. نشرت ماري مقالًا حول "استراتيجيات منع إدمان المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت" هنا (الصفحات 105-116). شاركت أيضًا في تأليف فصل في العمل مع مرتكبي الجرائم الجنسية - دليل للممارسين التي نشرتها Routledge.

تواصل ماري العمل على الإدمان السلوكي كعضو في الجمعية الدولية لدراسة الإدمان السلوكي. قدمت ورقة في مؤتمرهم 6th الدولي في يوكوهاما ، اليابان في يونيو 2019. انها تنشر بحث في هذه المنطقة الناشئة في المجلات التي استعرضها النظراء. يمكن العثور على أحدث ورقة هنا.

مؤسسة المكافآت

فكرة لجعل البحث العلمي عن الحب الجنسي متاحة للجمهور لأول مرة تبلورت في 2006. في تلك السنة ، قدمت ماري ورقة حول "الجنس والإدمان" في المؤتمر الدولي الثالث النفسي الإيجابي في البرتغال. الإنترنت فقط بدأت تصبح مصدر قلق. ومع ذلك ، فإن فكرة إنشاء المؤسسة تم تطويرها بالفعل بعد 2012 كنتيجة للحدث التالي.

تكنولوجيا الترفيه والتصميم (TED)

تم رفض TED يعتمد المفهوم على "أفكار تستحق المشاركة". إنها منصة تعليمية وترفيهية متوفرة على شكل محادثات مباشرة وعبر الإنترنت. حضرت ماري TED Global في أدنبرة في 2011. بعد ذلك بوقت قصير طلب منها المشاركة في تنظيم الأول تيد حدث Glasgow في 2012. واحد من المتحدثين الذين حضروا كان غاري ويلسون الذي شارك آخر النتائج من كتابه موقع الكتروني حول تأثير المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت في الدماغ في الحديث "التجربة الإباحية الكبرى". منذ ذلك الحين ، تمت مشاهدة هذا الكلام على 12.6 مليون مرة وتم ترجمته إلى لغات 18.

قام غاري ويلسون بتوسيع حديثه الشهير ليصبح كتابًا ممتازًا ، والآن في نسخته الثانية ، يسمى دماغك على الإباحية: المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت والعلوم الناشئة من الإدمان. نتيجة لعمله ، الآلاف من الناس ذكرت على مواقع الاسترداد الإباحية أن معلومات Gary قد ألهمتهم لتجربة الإقلاع عن الاباحية. لقد ذكروا أن صحتهم الجنسية ومشاكلهم العاطفية بدأت تتقلص أو تختفي منذ الإقلاع عن التدخين. للمساعدة في نشر كلام عن هذه التطورات الصحية الاجتماعية المثيرة للاهتمام والقيمة ، شاركت ماري في تأسيس مؤسسة المكافآت مع الدكتور داريل ميد في 23rd June 2014.

لدينا الفلسفة

استخدام الإباحية هو خيار شخصي. نحن لسنا خارج لحظر ذلك ولكننا نعتقد أنه نشاط عالي المخاطر. نريد أن نساعد الناس على اتخاذ قرار "مستنير" بشأنه بناءً على الأدلة من البحث المتاح حاليًا.

نقوم بحملة لتقليل وصول الأطفال بسهولة إلى المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت بسبب العشرات منها بحث تشير الأوراق إلى أنها تلحق الضرر بالأطفال في المرحلة الضعيفة من نمو الدماغ. كان هناك ارتفاع كبير في الاعتداء الجنسي على الطفل في سنوات 7 الماضية ، في الإصابات الجنسية المرتبطة بالإباحية وفقًا لأخصائيي الرعاية الصحية الذين حضروا ورش عملنا وربما حتى حالة وفاة. نحن نؤيد قانون الاقتصاد الرقمي لحكومة المملكة المتحدة الذي يتطلبه 2017 تاكيد السن للمستخدمين لأنه تدبير حماية الطفل قبل كل شيء. أنها ليست رصاصة فضية ، لكنها مكان بداية جيدة ضرورية. لن يحل محل الحاجة إلى التعليم حول المخاطر. ومن المستفيد إذا لم نفعل شيئًا؟

الجوائز والمشاركة

حصل رئيسنا على عدد من الجوائز منذ 2014 لتطوير عمل المؤسسة. بدأ التدريب بسنة من خلال جائزة حاضنة الابتكار الاجتماعي المدعومة من الحكومة الاسكتلندية. تم تسليم هذا في وعاء ذوبان في ادنبره. وتلا ذلك جائزتان لبدء العمل من UnLtd ، واثنتان من الصندوق التعليمي وآخر من صندوق اليانصيب الكبير. لقد استخدمت ماري الأموال من هذه الجوائز لتخلص السموم الرقمية في المدارس. وقد وضعت أيضًا خططًا للدرس حول المواد الإباحية للمعلمين لاستخدامها في المدارس. في 2017 ساعدت في تطوير ورشة عمل لمدة يوم واحد معتمدة من الكلية الملكية للممارسين العامين. إنه يدرب المحترفين حول تأثير المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت على الصحة العقلية والبدنية.

انضم ماري إلى مجلس إدارة الشركة جمعية النهوض بالصحة الجنسية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في 2016 وأنتجت ورش عمل تدريبية معتمدة لأخصائيي الجنس ومعلمي الجنس حول الاستخدام الإشكالي للإباحية على الإنترنت من قبل المراهقين. ساهمت في ورقة للمنظمة الوطنية لعلاج المعتدين على "منع السلوك الجنسي الضار" ، كما قدمت ورش عمل 3 للممارسين حول تأثير المواد الإباحية على الإنترنت على السلوك الجنسي الضار.

في 2017 ماري قدمت محام في مركز الشباب والعدالة الجنائية في جامعة ستراثكلايد. كانت مساهمتها الأولية تتحدث في حدث CYCJ في 7 March 2018 في غلاسكو. الخلايا الرمادية وخلايا السجون: تلبية الاحتياجات النمائية العصبية والمعرفية للشباب الضعفاء. في 2018 تم ترشيحها كواحدة من WISE100 القيادات النسائية في المشاريع الاجتماعية.

عندما لا تعمل في الأعمال الخيرية ، تتمتع ماري بالمشي والسباحة والسفر والرقص.

الاتصال ماري عن طريق البريد الإلكتروني في mary@rewardfoundation.org.

طباعة ودية، بدف والبريد الإلكتروني

Mary Sharpe, Chief Executive Officer

Mary Sharpe was born in Glasgow and grew up in a family dedicated to public service through teaching, law and medicine. From a young age, she was fascinated with the power of the mind and has been learning about it ever since.

Education and Professional Experience

Mary completed a Master of Arts degree at the University of Glasgow in French and German with psychology and moral philosophy. She followed this with a Bachelors degree in law. After graduation she practised as a solicitor and Advocate for the next 13 years in Scotland and for 5 years at the European Commission in Brussels. She then undertook post graduate work at the University of Cambridge and became a tutor there for 10 years. In 2012 Mary returned to the Faculty of Advocates, Scottish Bar, to refresh her court craft. In 2014 she went non-practising to set up the The Reward Foundation. She remains a member of the College of Justice and Faculty of Advocates.

The Reward Foundation

Mary has had several leadership roles at The Reward Foundation. In June 2014 she was the founding Chair. In May 2016 she moved into the professional role of Chief Executive Officer which she then held until November 2019 when she rejoined the Board as the Chair. Most recently, in March 2021 she again moved into the role of Chief Executive Officer.

University of Cambridge

Mary attended the University of Cambridge in 2000-1 to do post graduate work on sexual love and gender power relations in the period of Classical Antiquity through to the early Common Era. The conflicting value systems apparent at that pivotal time still influence the world today especially through religion and culture.

Mary remained in Cambridge for the following ten years.

Sustaining Peak Performance

In addition to her research work,  Mary trained as a workshop facilitator at the University with two international, award-winning organisations using research from psychology and neuroscience in an applied way. The focus was on developing resilience to stress, connecting with others and becoming effective leaders. She also worked as a mentor to enterprise students and as a science writer for the Cambridge-MIT Institute. This is a joint venture between the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and the University of Cambridge.

Her affiliation to the University of Cambridge remains through both St Edmund’s College and Lucy Cavendish College where she is an Associate Member.

Mary spent a year as a Visiting Scholar at St Edmund’s College, University of Cambridge in 2015-16. This allowed her to keep apace of the research in the emerging science of behavioural addiction.  During that time she spoke at a dozen national and international conferences. Mary published an article on “Strategies to Prevent Internet Pornography Addiction” available here (pages 105-116). She also co-authored a chapter in Working with Sex Offenders – a Guide for Practitioners published by Routledge.

From January 2020 until the first lockdown of the pandemic, Mary was at Lucy Cavendish College as a Visiting Scholar. During that time she published a paper with Dr Darryl Mead on where future research into problematic pornography use should go.

Research Developments

Mary continues the work on behavioural addiction as a member of the International Society for the Study of Behavioural Addiction. She presented a paper at their 6th International  conference in Yokohama, Japan in June 2019. She publishes research on this emerging area in peer reviewed journals. The latest paper can be found here.

The Reward Foundation

Technology Entertainment and Design (TED)

The TED concept is based on “ideas worth sharing”. It is an education and entertainment platform available both as live talks and online. Mary attended TED Global in Edinburgh in 2011.  Shortly thereafter she was  asked to co- organise the first TEDx Glasgow event in 2012. One of the speakers attending was Gary Wilson who shared the latest findings from his popular website yourbrainonporn.com about the impact of online pornography on the brain in a talk called “The Great Porn Experiment”. Since then that talk has been viewed over 13.6 million times and been translated into 18 languages.

Gary Wilson expanded his popular talk into an excellent book, now in its second edition, called Your Brain on Porn: Internet Pornography and the Emerging Science of Addiction.  As a result of his work, thousands of people have stated on porn recovery websites that Gary’s information inspired them to experiment with quitting porn. They have reported that their sexual health and emotional problems began to diminish or disappear since quitting porn. To help spread the word about these intriguing and valuable social health developments, Mary co-founded The Reward Foundation with Dr Darryl Mead on 23rd June 2014.

Our Philosophy

Porn use is a matter of personal choice for adults. We are not out to ban it but we do believe it is a high risk activity even for those over 18 years. We want to help people make an ‘informed’ choice about it based on the evidence from the research currently available. We believe it is better for health and wellbeing to spend time developing the social skills necessary to make intimate relationships work long term.

The Reward  Foundation campaigns to reduce children’s easy access to internet pornography because dozens of research papers indicate that it is damaging to children at their vulnerable stage of brain development. Children on the autistic spectrum and with special learning needs are especially vulnerable to harm. There has been a dramatic rise in child-on-child sexual abuse in the past 7 years, in porn-related sexual injuries according to healthcare professionals who have attended our workshops and possibly even deaths. We are in favour of the UK Government’s initiatives around age verification for users as it is a first and foremost a child protection measure. As the Digital Economy Act Part III has been set aside, we hope the government will accelerate work on the Online Harms Bill. This is not a silver bullet, but is a good starting place. It will not replace the need for education about risks.

Awards and Engagement

Our Chair has received a number of awards since 2014 to develop the work of the Foundation. It started with a year of training through the Scottish Government-supported Social Innovation Incubator Award. This was delivered at The Melting Pot in Edinburgh. It was followed by two start up awards from UnLtd, two from the Educational Trust and another from the Big Lottery Fund. Mary has used the money from these awards to pioneer digital detoxes in schools. She has also developed lesson plans about pornography for teachers to use in schools. In 2017 she helped develop a one-day workshop accredited by the Royal College of General Practitioners. It trains professionals about the impact of internet pornography on mental and physical health.

Mary was on the Board of Directors of the Society for the Advancement of Sexual Health in the USA from 2016-19 and has produced accredited training workshops for sex therapists and sex educators about problematic use of internet pornography by adolescents. She contributed to a paper for the National Organisation for the Treatment of Abusers on “Prevention of Harmful Sexual Behaviour” and also delivered 3 workshops to practitioners about the impact of internet pornography on harmful sexual behaviour.

From 2017-19 Mary was  an Associate at the Centre for Youth and Criminal Justice at the University of Strathclyde. Her initial contribution was speaking at the CYCJ event on 7 March 2018 in Glasgow.  Grey cells and prison cells: Meeting the neurodevelopmental and cognitive needs of vulnerable young people.

In 2018 she was nominated as one of the WISE100 women leaders in social enterprise.

When not working, Mary enjoys jogging, yoga, dancing and sharing new ideas with friends.

Contact Mary by email at mary@rewardfoundation.org.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email